Last week @_kaled shared some very interesting tips about using Twitter, I don’t agree exactly with some of them, but I definitely think they’re worth being put under one post, and I have the pleasure that Khaled accepted to have them hosted on my blog. 

I was approached by FunkyOzzi (that would be me) to compile a twitter rant of mine from last week. And so without too much of an introduction, I humbly bring you: my rant.

Are you new to twitter? Not a problem. Let me give you some basic and free Twitter Tips to make the tweeting experience more enjoyable for you.

twitter tips

Things to keep in mind about me and these tips:

  • I am by no means a Social Media “Expert” (in the manner that this term has been abused). I am merely a Social Media user like the rest of us.
  • These tips are more about etiquette rather than the functional use of Twitter. So here goes:
  1. Don’t count your tweets or your followers. It says nothing about you as a person. Not even if you’re Ashton Kutcher or Lady Gaga.
  2. There is a plethora of Instant Messaging (IM)/Chat services that are free for download. For example: Gtalk, WLM, AIM, yahoo messenger. There’s no fun in chatting publicly. (I so agree with this)
    Personally, I ‘try’ to use the rule: 3 mentions –> DM; 3 DMs –> email etc… (for me the DM thing can go forever until the response itself needs more than 140 character, this is when I give up and ask for the person’s email address)
  3. Don’t ask people to follow. Give them a chance to like your creativity, humor, cause, thoughts etc…Just be interesting!
  4. I hate to break it to you, but the whole world follows @mashable. You add no value by RT’ing them incessantly, all day long. (IMO, it’s ok to RT very known users such as the latter, but make sure you post your opinion to give some added value, be selective)
  5. Believe me, if it’s worth sharing, it will be RT’d…don’t beg for attention.
  6. Be social. Interact by replying. Unless you think you are too good for your followers; in that case maybe social media is not your forte.
  7. Are you creating original content via a blog? Great! Go ahead & schedule your links 4 more readership round the clock. Otherwise try not to schedule casual tweets. The power of Twitter is in its real time value.
  8. Do you want to do a Follow Friday a.k.a #FF? No problem, here’s how it works (courtesy of the panda of awesomeness @UxSoup) http://j.mp/lb0wQl
  9. “The internet is a pen, not a pencil” @benmezrich. You may delete a tweet, but it will always be on a server somewhere. Think before you tweet
  10. Last but not least: it’s called ‘breakfast’ not ‘brekkie’. For the love of all which does not suck, please don’t tear down the English language.

Nb: you may search for the hashtag #TwitterTips to see what other users are recommending

About @_kaled:

an ex-AdMan with an MBA in Marketing from the American University of Beirut. With years of Advertising/Communications experience from Grey Beirut and JWT, he is currently a Client Services Manager for a leading North American e-Commerce firm.
